Undergraduate Awards

Feminist Studies majors are eligible to apply for the following awards. For a more extensive list of scholarship and award options, visit the UCSC Financial Aid Web site.

FMST Community Service Award

Each spring, a $500 Community Service Award is awarded to a graduating senior who demonstrated exemplary volunteer work in the Santa Cruz or larger area. Students are encouraged to complete at least one field study (FMST 198) supervised by a Feminist Studies faculty member and to include the narrative evaluation for that field study in their award application.

Humanities Undergraduate Research Award (HUGRA)

Each fall, students submit proposals for projects involving research within or including any of the humanities disciplines. Up to ten $500 awards are given annually, plus an additional $500 to the student with the top proposal. For an application, email Marissa Fullum-Campbell in the Humanities Dean's office.

Strauss Foundation Award

Fourteen $10,000 scholarships are awarded each year to junior class-level California university juniors interested in public service. Check the Strauss Foundation website for more information.

Dean’s, Chancellor’s and Steck Awards

To encourage and stimulate outstanding scholarship and creativity among undergraduate students, the Deans of the five academic divisions at UCSC annually award fifty undergraduates (ten from each division) the Dean's Undergraduate Award with a cash prize of $100 for outstanding achievement in their division. The projects must be based on work developed in courses or programs in the normal pattern of academic activity at UCSC. Of the Deans' awardees, the top three from each division are awarded the Chancellor's Undergraduate Award with an additional cash prize of $100. Of the Chancellor's awardees, the most outstanding research project from a graduating senior receives the Steck Award with an additional cash prize of $1,000. Completed projects and applications are due to the faculty sponsor’s department in early April. Guidelines and application forms are available starting in mid-January from the offices of the Chancellor, Divisions, Departments, and Colleges. Check the Humanities Division website for more information.

Sabrina Greenfield Memorial Award

This award is in honor of Feminist Studies major, Sabrina Greenfield.  Her friends and family wish to acknowledge and remember her life and dedication to social justice through this award.  This award is based on academic merit and financial aid, and is open to College Ten undergraduates at the sophomore, junior, or senior level who are majoring in Feminist Studies.

See Also